Activists with a deep knowledge of the history and policies behind California’s water landscape

“If there is one thing I’ve learned in my lifetime of activism, change doesn’t come easily, but without it, the environment will continue to degrade along with our quality of life.”

-Dorothy Green


Board of Directors

C-WIN’s board of directors brings nearly 80 years of experience, dedication, and the vital knowledge necessary to achieve a sustainable water future.

  Carolee Krieger   →   President and Executive Dir.

Carolee Krieger
President and Executive Dir.

  Joshua Green   →   

Joshua Green

  Conner Everts   →

Conner Everts

  Michael B. Jackson   →   Secretary

Michael B. Jackson

  Aaron "Beno" Budgor   →   

Aaron "Beno" Budgor

  Bill Jennings   →

Bill Jennings

  Yvon Chouinard   →   Co-founder

Yvon Chouinard

  Malinda Chouinard   →   Co-founder

Malinda Chouinard

  Barbara Vlamis   →   

Barbara Vlamis

  Dan Bacher   →

Dan Bacher

  Tom Stokely   →   Water Policy and Media

Tom Stokely
Water Policy and Media

  Gretchen Lieff

Gretchen Lieff




Maude Barlow

Gray Brechin

Jim Edmonson

Larry Farwell

Joan Wells

Nick Di Croce

Huey Johnson


In Memoriam

  Dorothy Green

Dorothy Green

“This precious commodity belongs to all of us, but some demand the right to sell it for an unwarranted gain…Water rights are not property rights. Yet throughout California, they are being treated as if they were.”


Dorothy Green helped direct the fight to stop the Peripheral Canal in 1982. She is Founding President of Heal the Bay and President Emeritus of the Los Angeles and San Gabriel Rivers Watershed Council. She served as a Los Angeles Department of Water and Power Commissioner for three and a half years, and chaired the most important water policy conference in the state, the POWER Conference. She joined the C-WIN Board in 2002, and drafted C-WIN’s sustainability principles. She passed away October 13, 2008.



Georgia Strickland  Accounting

Christina Speed  Communications